Posted on

phoenix the street artist: young st, fitzroy

I ran away from a gallery tonight. It was filling with hipsters, and not really where I wanted to be anyway. The light was still good, and I was pleased to meet this pink creature on my way home…

Thanks Phoenix!

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

8 responses to “phoenix the street artist: young st, fitzroy

  1. Is that building behind the pink cow done in paste-up/stencil art? Was this area a former meat packing or slaughter house district? lots of bovine

  2. Pasadena: Yes, it’s the Welcome to Sunny Fitzroy mural by the Everfresh crew – 35 metres of greyscale work. http://www.everfreshstudio.com/blog/?p=2286 Proudly supported by the Night Cat. Fitzroy has a most interesting history – not sure about this building though…

  3. phoenix ⋅

    There’s another one of these in Hosier Lane. For some reason, the dye in the hot pink photocopy paper runs with paste or pva; this pink cow is already starting to melt down the pole.
    Don’t know about the slaughterhouse connection, however.

    I know what you mean by the hipsters – I went to Semipermanent at GPO: WAY too cool for school. The street art community is a multi-tentacled beast.

    Hope there’s no hipsters hiding behind the pole!

    Phoenix

    PS – check out my EPHEMERAL piece in Little Lonsdale opposite Thousand Pound Bend and my Little Diver Reapplied in Cocker Alley if you get a chance.

  4. phoenix: a melting pink cow? how…unintentionally surreal of you!

    Between the hipsters and being nudged by jumbo-lensed photographers, it was all a bit much.

    Back in town tomorrow, will check out your PS.

    cheers, vetti

  5. phoenix ⋅

    Vetti: That pink cow was so melty it just melted away from that pole. By the time I visited her last Sunday on my Phoenix ARt Tour, she was gone.

    Along the way I saw my roller-PVA works so beautifully fused with their walls and my recent potatostarch ones falling off or gone: julia g coming apart; we scare looking scared; hammers almost falling off; pink cow evapourated.

    Maybe I didn’t make it right – but I think I have decided PVA is my medium of choice.

    phoenix
    PS – I’m afraid the surreal is fairly intentional.I’m trying to do a range of different things with my public art; leaving surreal little moments for people to discover is definitely one of them.
    Of course, synchronicity and circumstance always create their own surreal watermark..

  6. phoenix: sorry I missed your art tour, will there be another one?

    Circumstancial surrealism? Love it!

  7. phoenix

    just let me know, vetti, if you want to do a tour with me – either with just you or with a few friends if you like.. and we can organize a time.
    you’ve been a fabulous supporter of my work – would love to share some more art with you.

    send me a FB message with your details and I’ll call you.
    phoenix

  8. phoenix: So lovely of you! Will be in contact soon.

Leave a comment