Posted on

fun, but not my type

I celebrated my new job by buying three books:

The bullet trick – Louise Welsh
Carter beats the devil – Glen David Gold
The best American non-required reading 2006 – edited by Dave Eggers

All good. In fact, I’ve started on Carter already.

Then at the tram stop:

Cheeky Chap: “It’s nice to meet a lady with some meat on her bones…are you single?”
Me: “Thanks, but no I’m not”
CC: “Didn’t think you would be darling, but worth a try, eh?”
Me: smiling, getting out iPod
CC: “Hey look! That store has vintage typewriters! Sweet…Do you have one?”
Me: “Yeh, a Smith-Corona Clipper, from Canada”
CC: “Oooh! Built into the travel case? You lucky thing!”
Me (thinks) oh well, at least he isn’t boring…

When I got home, I found this:

scan158_small.jpg

The booklet contains exercises to help you get the utmost in fine writing performance, with the greatest of ease. The young lady on the cover is demonstrating the Remington Quiet-Riter. Type these sentences:

My daughter has tried all makes. She says that no other typewriter has the “feel” of the Remington.

Learning on a Remington actually makes touch-typing easier. That is because of faster, smoother action.

Now I like typewriters – but were they really so exciting in 1956?

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

3 responses to “fun, but not my type

  1. bookboy

    Yay for new books!!

  2. crumpet

    Yay for new jobs!!

  3. bookboy: yay indeed…though I must return the Dave Eggers, as I already own a copy!

    crumpet: ta! I begin on April 3, and will be there Tue-Sat

Leave a comment