Posted on

central australian hotel – bourke, nsw

The Central Australian Hotel has been closed awhile. Even the railway line it overlooks is inactive. Once a bustling Victorian building (the balcony is a dead giveaway, even with the overlay of Art Deco), now cobwebbed and unloved. Despite all this, the moderne makeover still looks totally stunning.

As if you hadn’t guessed, I love the Central Australian Hotel. Bourke is a strange place, but in many ways a beautiful one…

If anyone can tell me what the interior is like, I’d love to hear from you…

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

2 responses to “central australian hotel – bourke, nsw

  1. Virginia Jacobsen ⋅

    hi my parents owned this hotel in 1969. I went to boarding school in Sydney on the train from the station that was across the road. This was such a great hotel such a shame it is going to waste.Inside [especially the bar] was fantastic with wonderful features. I always wanted to revisit but now I know it is closed it would be sad to see it now. My parents bought an approx. 8ftx3ft pnude painting to hang in the bar it was the talk of the town.Unfortunately at that time aboriginals were not allowed to drink in pubs . My parents employed them though and many of my friends were from aboriginal families.Bourke was an amazing place to live pretty wild in some ways but an experience. The outdoor cinema was packed on a hot night and the dances and rodeos so much fun. cheers virginia

  2. Vetti

    Virginia Jacobsen: Hi, thanks so much for dropping by and sharing your story with me! I really loved finding the Central Australian Hotel on my travels, and would love to see it restored to its former glory.

Leave a Reply

