Posted on

dancing cheek to cheek

I wonder what exactly doesn’t boot (AKA thrill) this mystery correspondent half as much as dancing cheek to cheek? Or is s/he just quoting from a favourite song? Are there more of these out there with other lyrics on them?

I love Irving Berlin’s lyrics, and seeing them on a wall on High Street, Northcote did add an extra spring to my step…

So many people have recorded this gem of a track. My favourite versions are by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong, although Frank Sinatra’s rendition (on the Frank Sinatra Show with Mitzi Gaynor, Dean Martin and Bing Crosby) is rather fun too. Then there’s the bouncy goodness of Louis Prima’s duet with Keely Smith…If you haven’t seen Taco’s cover, you really must.

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

2 responses to “dancing cheek to cheek

  1. Vetti

    Pasadena: Hi! I walked past this again today, makes me want to listen to Ella And Louis… 🙂

Leave a Reply

