Posted on

the sun has got his hat on

I can’t listen to this without smiling, but today it’s bittersweet. The beautiful man who sang this to me is gone, and I’ll never see the twinkle in his eye again. Cheers Papa, I miss you.

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

4 responses to “the sun has got his hat on

  1. A lovely song is always lovelier when sung by father to daughter. Thank you for sharing. I am so sorry for your loss.

    I understand how you feel and the song my Papa used to sing to me, when I was a tot was “I’ve got a crush on you” and it will always be our special song, especially now that he’s not with me.

  2. bookjunkie: Thank you. My GRANDFATHER was a wonderful man, he sang this song often, and loved being out in the sun. He died on this day, several years ago.

  3. oops sorry for the mistake. I never met either of my grandfathers and always wondered what a relationship with them would be like. Sounds like your grandpa was amazing 🙂

  4. bookjunkie: hey, that’s ok…I was fortunate to spend a lot of time with my (maternal) grandfather, and yes, it was rewarding and memorable.

Leave a Reply

