Posted on

i dream of deco

…and yes, I finally got to the NGV. A fabulous sunshiny day improved no end by a visit to the Art Deco show, and the company of m1k3y and Mia.

In a nutshell, some things were totally breathtaking, others not so much. It took me at least 15 minutes to make a steampunk reference, and we picked out some things that would look just marvy in your modish zeppelin’s interior. Show is on until October 5, I’d certainly go again. Have you been? What did you think?

Personally, an age where hedonism was celebrated, travel was glamorous, and design was Hollywood futurist seemed pretty damn attractive. The swing bands and fine automobiles too…Yes, deco is gaudily aspirational, and all those sequins can’t hide a lack of focus – but sometimes we all need a little razzle dazzle, oui?

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

5 responses to “i dream of deco

  1. bookboy

    Sadly I didn’t get there, and with the impending arrival of BookChild II, it’s doubtful that I will.

  2. m1k3y

    I’m just fueling up the airship now 😉

    I simply *must* have that pseudo-roman masked busk in my reading room!

  3. Paul

    nevermind, I googled it. 🙂

  4. bookboy: on for a few weeks yet…can lend you the glossy mega programme if you’d like a read? 300+ pages of gorgeousness!

    m1k3y: i’m still trying to work out where i’ll put the Eileen Gray lacquer screen, never mind the foyer from the Strand Palace Hotel…among other things…and yes, the Rayner Hoff bust was awesome!

    Paul: surely you jest?

Leave a Reply

