Posted on

gum thief, take me away…

After such a bubbly beginning, I sunk into my own pit of gloom/turbulence. Tossed most of my plans du jour out the window, and sat in the bath. After some time, and many lungfuls of soothing lemon oil, my head is back together, and I’m seized with new energy. Stand aside as I mop, wipe, and de-cobweb my fine abode…

The only other thing I achieved today was to finish reading Douglas Coupland’s Gum Thief. A sweet mix of humour, neurotics, goths, office supplies, and alcohol. There’s also novels, letters, friendship, death and a few packs of chewing gum. The message – you can find solace in modern life, but often where you least expect it. Click here for Crush Inc. videos. These feature passages from the novel – and narration by the author.

Afternoon/evening breezes sweep through my house, more powerful than my nylon broom or mop can ever be. A vase blows over, its shards and willow stems lie broken on the floor. New spiders weave as their cousins are evicted. Life is strange, calm, and beautiful – often all at once.

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

Leave a Reply

