Posted on

zen and the art of bathing

scan-250_small.jpg

Retreating to the bath is one of my favourite ways to rebalance. Sometimes I have an experience to contemplate (or koan, for any zen jargonistas out there ) which eludes me when I attempt to use rational/logical thought. Creating a space to drift gives me somewhere to respond to things. Often, there is no unique answer, but a need to explore what surrounds the question. Letting go of the senses allows the body to simply be, to switch off a chattering mind, and reconnect. I can also do this while walking or sitting, but find maintaining stillness is more difficult.

Not that I’m an aquatic monk or anything – sometimes a bath is just a bath. With a good book, a glass of wine, and something on the turntable of course…

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

Leave a Reply

