Posted on

strike a pose

Wandering around town today, I couldn’t help noticing posters everywhere – and how uncomfortable the models looked. This only got worse when I got to Lygon St, and saw the most frightening mannequin display ever. Having done a little window dressing myself, I was at a loss to discern “the message” – unless it was “fend off the lava flow with bare hands”, or “march of the zombies:autumn 2007”. Thankfully, the window was being redone, and the mannequins looked much more relaxed when I went past again a bit later.

Then I came home, and found this.

scan131_small.JPG

I know she’s on the cover, and has to fill up an odd-shaped space, but look at those hands! Have you ever found yourself assuming this stance, just because your gloves are on? Maybe she’s desperately begging us to look at her bead necklace, so we’ll ignore the orange hat. Stylists have a lot to answer for, don’t they?

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

Leave a Reply

