Posted on

don’t just garden it, flamingo it!

I’ve always thought a pair of Don Featherstone’s pink flamingoes would be a nice accent for my front yard.

upi62360.jpg

They’d enjoy the varied foliage of my native garden, I’m sure of that. However, this was not to be. The flamingo is not really Joffa’s style, and they’d be fair game for the same quick-handed folks who swing by and steal my pot plants…

Unfortunately, Union Products, home of the original lawn flamingo, is finito. The factory closed down last year, but the original moulds still exist. Anyone out there want to invest in the flamingo business? To read more about the alluring creatures, and why we love them, click here.

I realise it may be more “Australian” for me to want a tyre swan or concrete aboriginal, but I really dislike them. Tikis would be great, or any statues of serene islander people – but then I’ve got three in the back yard already. It is still possible to buy Featherstone’s flamingoes on the interweb – but remember: the real ones are always sold in pairs, have distinctive coloured beaks, have different stance/height to their partner, and are signed below the tail. Add to the happiness of Don Featherstone, and accept no imitations.

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

Leave a Reply

