Posted on

you can’t top an op-shop!

Yesterday saw me strolling the main street of Orbost. It has two second-hand stores, both are well worth a look. I staggered away after several hours with a pile of goodies:
– vintage magazines and knitting patterns
– 1960’s kids books
– two beautiful plates
– some 1970’s kids fabric
– a Gaydex tablecloth
– a 1960’s serviette holder

And one lady at Friends of Orbost uttered my favourite words “oh – we have lots more stuff you’d like! Come out the back, pick out whatever you want!” And so I did.

And here are some of my finds…

scan46_small.JPG

scan47_small.JPG

scan48_small.JPG

The caravan pic is an illustration by Peter Costanza. It’s in a book called “Lets Find Out About Houses”, published in 1962. It was once part of the library at Marlo Primary School. The swellegant bride is from My Home, June 1955, and the bathing belle from The Australian Women’s Mirror, December 2, 1959.

All the volunteers are sweet. I spent at least half an hour sitting on the beautiful 50’s carpet at St. James Op-Shop ( the little one, near the top pub ) just talking with the ladies. I’m sure that there’s a special place in heaven for these lovelies, full of piping hot flat whites, pub lunches, and comfy sofas….

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

Leave a Reply

