Posted on

when she walks, its like a samba

I met a beautiful lady today. In her ivy-print dress, she looked fresh from some 50s magazine ad. “Excuse me dear, but can you tell an old lady the time? I can’t read without my glasses.” I told her 11:30, and that I could not see any old ladies in the vicinity. She wagged a finger at me, then laughed. Apparently, her secret is a record called How To Belly-Dance For Your Husband. It came with an instruction manual, “and was probably meant as a joke present, but I learned how, and kept doing it. My husband certainly loves it!” Pearl said goodbye, and turned to walk away. I smiled, and watched her swirl down the street. She’s long gone, but somehow I know I won’t forget her.

Pearl, I hope that music still moves me when I’m your age, and know that every time the hi-fi makes me happy, you’re somewhere live in Northcote, bellydancing with Sonny Lester and his Orchestra. 🙂

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

Leave a Reply

