Posted on

mister barbeque, 1965

It wouldn’t be summer without long hours in the back yard, and plenty of barbequed goodness for everyone. While stocking up at the market this week ( thanks Garden Organics for the gorgeous tomatoes ), I met Bob, the ambassador of barbeque cuisine. Bob is a twinkly older gent, who, not content just wearing the coolest Hawaiian shirt, shared a plethora of his favourite recipes with me. He also stressed the importance of proper attire. ” You may be king of the grill and pour drinks like a pro, but you are nothing without an apron.” They do need to be funny, ” but in a restrained way, not crude “. Apparently, his favourite apron ever said If you want to see stars, pinch the chef The lovely Verna bought it for him in ’65, and I’m pleased to say they still seem very happy together. Cheers Verna and Bob, you really made my day 🙂

Apron update:
another good one is If you want to see flying saucers, pinch the waitress

About Vetti

I love good coffee, street art, tiki bars and kitsch. Adore roller derby and quiffs and vintage Hawaiian shirts. Enjoy a slice of my northside life!

4 responses to “mister barbeque, 1965

  1. crumpet

    I love the term “twinkly older gent”. 🙂

  2. and that’s exactly what he was – a lovely man with a twinkle in his eye. Totally charming…

  3. gizo

    I love barbeques, but I am not a barbequer. I feel more comfortable as a fringe-dweller. Which means that every time we have a barbeque in out enormous outdoor chimney, I need to be sure to invite someone who is a barbequer, lest I fail my guests.

  4. According to my copy of Woman’s World, men feel they are world-beating cooks once they don an apron and chef’s hat, and are standing guard over the steaks. I’m so glad all blokes don’t feel this way, or the brawls over who gets to grill would be intense! It doesn’t matter who cooks the kebabs, as long as there’s enough to share…

Leave a Reply

